About Westshore Rugby Club

Westshore (formerly Velox) is a rugby club operating in the western communities (Colwood/Langford). They offer men’s, women’s and youth rugby programs. 

Westshore Rugby Football Club
Field/Clubhouse Location:

1767 Island Hwy
Victoria (Colwood) BC


About UVic Vikes Rugby

The University of Victoria features men’s and women’s XVs and 7s teams. They have won national championships in the following years. 

Men’s Rugby (2)

  • 1997-98, 1998–99

Men’s Rugby 7s (5)

  • 2011, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016

Women’s Rugby 7s (1)

  • 2017


About UBCOB Ravens Rugby

UBC Old Boys Ravens is a Canadian rugby union team based in Vancouver, British Columbia. Founded in 1974, and is the two-time defending Premier Champion.

Founding Date

The UBC Old Boy Ravens have won the Rounsefell Cup seven times, in 1981, 1985, 1990, 1991, 1994, 2018, and 2019.


About UBC Rugby

UBC Rugby has a 100-year tradition of rugby excellence at UBC, and strong alumni and University support. The UBC Rugby Program believes in continuing the tradition of developing balanced student athletes who demonstrate a range of dynamic abilities on and off the field; by doing so they advance their program goal of becoming the best rugby development program in North America.

UBC Rugby has the most comprehensive rugby facility in Canada, if not North America, and consists of:

  • The Gerald McGavin Rugby Centre, completed in January 2013 with field views, lounge, stadium seating & two Varsity changing rooms.
  • 4 additional changing rooms in original rugby clubhouse
  • Four (4) contiguous rugby fields plus Thunderbird Stadium for tournaments
  • Smith & Laycoe Varsity Weight Room – a 4,000 sq. ft., state of the art weight room with two sprinting alleys
  • Thunderbird Stadium – with capacity for 8,000, including 3,000+ covered seats with IRB approved turf for signature games

The quality of these facilities has made UBC the provincial Centre of Excellence for the BC Rugby Union and the location of summer programs.


About Seattle Saracens Rugby Club

The Seattle Saracens are proud to have been an elite rugby club in Seattle since 1966 – over 50 years of providing opportunities, both on and off the field. In addition to our Men’s and Women’s rugby program, our community mission is to enrich the lives of young people through our inclusive rugby and community outreach programs.


About Nanaimo Hornets Rugby Club

The Nanaimo Hornets Rugby Football Club (N.H.R.F.C.) has a history of over 125 years. 
It has been operating at its current location at Pioneer Park on Dover Road since 1968.

James Bay Athletic Association Established: 1886 IN: Victoria, BC

THE NHRFC IS A PART OF THE British Columbia Rugby Union (BCRU),  the provincial administrative body for rugby union in British Columbia. The BCRU consists of nine sub-unions (Hornets play in the Vancouver Island Rugby Union) and 65 clubs ACROSS BC. Each is responsible for the organization and operation of their club. Originally organized in New Westminster in 1889 where Alfred St. George Hamersley, the former England rugby union captain and recent immigrant to Vancouver, and member of Vancouver Football (Rugby) Club, became the first President.[1] The same man is credited with founding the first Amateur Athletic Club in British Columbia.
Nanaimo Hornets

  • Established: 1888 Originally the Nanaimo Rovers (1 year before the BCRU started)
  • City: Nanaimo, BC
  • Home: Pioneer Park
  • Divisions: First’s, Third’s, Senior women’s, Over 40’s, Junior’s (13-19), and mini’s (5-12)
  • Total membership is on average 250 each year
  • Colours: Black and Yellow


About JBAA

JBAA welcomes young men and women who enjoy team athletics, as well as social members who enjoy association with sport. We emphasize athletic excellence, integrity, playing for each other, and development of friendships within our JBAA family that, in many cases, last for a lifetime.


About CW Rugby

CW Rugby has a long, storied history in British Columbia Canada. Our journey dates back over 100 years. The club is the amalgamation of the Oak Bay Wanderers (founded 1912) and the Castaway (founded 1965) Rugby organizations in 1989. The Club proudly displays BC Championship banners from 1999 to 2002, three consecutive seasons of interlock play involving Vancouver Island and Mainland clubs- a feat accomplished by only one other BC Club – and another BC Championship in 2011. Whether it is via Club tours of visiting teams of all ages, the National Senior Men’s Team members, players from coast to coast and internationally, or CW players currently on professional contracts, the Castaway Wanderers name and brand is known across Canada and around the world. It is a respected Club of choice for local players, national team players and international players looking to play on the West Coast of Canada.


About Capilano Rugby Club

The Capilano Rugby Football Club was formed in 1969 after the amalgamation of the North Shore All-Blacks and the West Vancouver Barbarians, two teams that had been playing locally since the 1930s.

From its humble beginnings playing on “borrowed” fields and using a small second-floor warehouse space at the bottom of Lonsdale as a clubhouse, the Capilano club took steps to move forward and secure permanent grounds with an adjoining clubhouse. In 1982 a deal was struck with West Vancouver District to designate Klahanie Park the home of North Shore Rugby. “Klahanie” in the local First Nations dialect means “Welcome”.

After ongoing numerous renovations and improvements, the clubhouse and field facilities have become the park of choice for hosting major games in British Columbia. In the past few years Klahanie has been used for a variety of B.C. representative, Canada Junior and other feature matches. Test sides from Canada, Japan, Georgia, the United States, New Zealand, Hong Kong and England have all used its grounds and clubhouse for training.

In the 1990s the Capilano club focused its attention on growing the player development base from within. Unlike other clubs in B.C. that rely on recruiting players from other clubs or regions, our players help coach students at almost every rugby-playing high school on the North Shore and encourage them to come down to the club and play in what has now become the strongest junior program in Canada. As a direct result of this investment in local youth rugby, the 2003-’04, 2004-’05 and 2011-’12 seasons saw the Capilano Premier Men’s side claim provincial championship titles, while the Capilano Premier Women’s squad also claimed West Coast Women’s Rugby Association championship crowns in 2003-’04 and 2009-’10.

To celebrate the 75th anniversary of rugby on the North Shore, the Club has undertaken the steps to improve the facilities — doubling the size of the clubhouse, adding a new bar and kitchen, change rooms and showers and upstairs washrooms.


Capilano Rugby – Club Presidents

1969 – 1971 Bill Ewing

1971 – 1975 Bucky Ellison

1975 – 1977 Jeremy Dalton

1977 – 1979 Kevin Davies

1979 – 1983 Robin Dyke

1983 – 1984 Eric Cable

1984 – 1987 Iain Sellers

1987 – 1991 Tony Scott

1991 – 1994 John Olmstead

1994 – 1996 Eric Carlson

1996 – 1999 Mark Slay

1999 – 2002 Tony Scott

2002 – 2006 Alan Snowden

2006 – 2009 Steve Cook

2009 – 2014 Ken Robinson

2014 – 2016 Kes Kasha

2016 – Present Nick Belmar